Signing of MOU

October 2017

MOU for the creation of a Technological University of the South East is signed

On the 12th October 2017 the Governing Body Chairs and Presidents of the two South East Institutes of Technology at Carlow and Waterford formally agreed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) on behalf of the Governing Bodies and Executives of the two institutions, which established the context and framework for collaboration and co-operation towards the development and delivery of a connected and embedded unitary multi-campus Technological University of the South East (TUSE) of international standing.

The MOU takes cognisance of the objectives of the National Strategy for Higher Education to 2030 and builds upon the joint 2012 submission by the two HEI’s to the HEA which set out their strategic intentions, the Technological Universities Bill (2015) and is supported by funding under the HEA’s Scheme to Provide Support for the Restructuring of the Higher Education Landscape.

Through the adoption of the MOU, the Governing Bodies of both Institutes have provided for the appointment of an Independent Chair and a joint Project Steering Group to ensure a strong and durable foundation to harness the Institute’s commitment and drive the TUSE project for the benefit the stakeholders in the South East region.

« All Latest News